“Stop To Smell The Roses”- To My Dad

“Stop To Smell The Roses”- To My Dad

There is a quote I love about one’s perspective and it goes like this: “If only our eyes saw souls instead of bodies, how very different our ideals of beauty would be.”

Eyes: The God given tool that helps us see, and how beautiful these tools can be. Eyes are one of the first things I notice about someone else, maybe because I’ve never thought mine were that unique or spectacular. I’ve only been complimented on my eyes one time. It was in 7th Grade Science class by a girl who sat beside me. It meant a lot to me and I’ll never forget it.

However, this past year, I realized how special my eyes actually are. My eyes are dark blue, just light enough to still be clearly recognized as blue. Dark blue like the very deep parts of the ocean. Deep ocean blue. Blue like my dad’s. I received a lot of qualities from my dad, but my eyes have recently became my most treasured, genetic gift from him. Not because of how other’s view and see my eyes, but because of how I see and view others with my eyes. My perspective. My dad’s perspective.

I’ve never met anyone else with a perspective like my dad’s. He is so positive and see’s the best in people and situations. My freshman and sophomore year of college were the two darkest years of my life. I felt like I had no clear direction or purpose, and I felt like I was drowning. Every now and again, I would get a text from my dad telling me to stop and smell the roses. At first, this seemed silly. But I did it anyways. I found so much joy during that dark time by just simply stopping to look around at the beautiful things around me. He could change my perspective from miles and hours away. Now that I have recently graduated from college and became a new wife, his eyes have become more permanent to me. I stop in stressful situations and change my perspective. I think about my dad. He has given me so much in my life. Time, love, opportunities, advice, but the eyes that he gave me are something that others can look into and find beauty in as well. Thanks, dad.

“Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.” I promise you that it can change your perspective, whether it be about a situation or a person, and remind you just how blessed you are to be living the beautiful life you are.

One thought on ““Stop To Smell The Roses”- To My Dad

  1. Dads are so very special! Mine went to heaven in January, and I still hear his wonderful expressions in my head and heart. Whenever I think I’m too cool or down and out–he just pops into my head. I sang “His Eye Is On the Sparrow” (an old gospel song) yesterday in church–it was Dad’s favorite, and just when I thought I was going to lose it, I heard him say “C’mon, Sis, let’s sing this together.” We soared. I know how awful your years at Delaware were, and somehow, I hope I was able to help your perspective even a little bit, so, Home Girl, hold onto all that was good in those dark times. Love you & send you hugs from afar. Your Elder Groupie & Home Girl

    Like

Leave a Reply

