Tuesdays With (YOU)

Tuesdays With (YOU)

Happy Tuesday, everyone!!! I am so exited about this post because it is soooo relevant to my life right now. So in my “About Me” page, you can find that I get a lot of inspiration from the books I read. Saying I love to read is an understatement, but a lot of people already know that. But, what a lot of people do not know is that I love Tuesdays! Tuesdays? Yes, Tuesdays, and it all comes from a book I read once. It’s not very long and is an easy read, but it has so many good points. Just one of those books that has “helped me grow” (See blog post “Growing”). This also seems fitting because I just this week started my last semester of observation hours before I student teach in the fall. I leave every afternoon motivated, burdened, and excited to become the best teacher I can possibly be.

But, about a year and a half ago, I went through a very rough patch in my life. I was very depressed and didn’t see any light at the end of my tunnel. I wrote a lot during that time period, and looking back on those entries bring tears to my eyes. Thankfully, as I started coming out of this funk, I stumbled across an old book titled Tuesdays With Morrie, written by Mitch Albom. When I found this memoir novel, I was literally searching and pulling for anything positive to give my life meaning. I can’t quite describe how the book helped me, but it helped give me something positive to look forward to, even on a day as random as a Tuesday. I highly recommend the book to anyone, not just future teachers!!!

Since today is Tuesday, I want to share some of my favorite quotes from the book. I hope it doesn’t spoil the whole thing for you, but instead I hope it encourages you to grab your kindle/nook, or run to the nearest Barnes and Noble and buy it!! Although there are more highlighted quotes in my book, here are 10 of my favorites:

  1. “Life is a series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you know you should never take anything for granted. A tension of opposites, like a pull on a rubber band. And most of us live somewhere in the middle.” ‘Sounds like a wrestling match, I say.’ “A wrestling match.” ‘He laughs.’ “Yes, you could describe life that way.” ‘So which side wins, I ask?’ “Which side wins?” ‘He smiles at me, the crinkled eyes, the crooked teeth.’ “Love wins. Love always wins.”
  2. “Detachment doesn’t mean you don’t let the experience penetrate you. On the contrary, you let it penetrate you fully. That’s how you are able to leave it.”
  3. “Sometimes you cannot believe what you see, you have to believe what you feel. And if you are ever going to have other people trust you, you must feel that you can trust them too-even when you are in the dark. Even when you’re falling.”
  4. “We think we don’t deserve love, we think if we let it in we’ll become too soft. But a wise man named Levine said it right. He said. ‘Love is the only rational act’.”
  5. “Tears are okay.”
  6. “Death ends a life, not a relationship. All the love you created is still there. All the memories are still there. You live on- in the hearts of everyone you have touched and nurtured while you were here.”
  7. “Do what the Buddhists do. Every day, have a little bird on your shoulder that asks, ‘Is today the day? Am I doing all I need to do? Am I being the person I want to be?'”
  8. “But everyone knows someone who has died, I said. Why is it so hard to think about dying? ‘Because,’ Morrie continued, ‘most of us all walk around as if we’re sleepwalking. We really don’t experience the world fully, because we’re half-asleep, doing things we automatically think we have to do.'”
  9. “How useful it would be to put a daily limit on self pity. Just a few tearful minutes, then on with the day.”
  10. “How about Tuesday? ‘Tuesday would be good, I said. Tuesday would be fine.'”

As I go through my old but dearly loved book, I remember just how all of the things I highlighted helped me and applied to my life. One of my favorite quotes in the whole book is, “It was only through default that the best professor I ever had became a teacher.” At the time, I was so upset about the career choice I had chosen. I felt like I had only chosen to become a teacher because there was nothing else and that I would probably fail. This gave me hope that although I had ruled out other career options, like Morrie had, that I could be an awesome teacher and could have a great impact on students lives, even if it was by default.

So now I love Tuesdays. When I wake up on a Tuesday and nothing else can motivate me, I remember this book and all of the ways it has helped me grow into who I am today and how proud I am of being a future educator. Like quote number 10, I think “Why NOT Tuesday?”

I challenge you on this Tuesday to spend some time with yourself and read Tuesdays With Morrie. I could write about how each of the quotes means something to me, but I want to hear if/how this book encouraged you, helped you, or reassured you in any way in the comments below!!

**When you buy the book, buy some tissues, too!! It’s a tear jerker!!**

tuesdays w. morrie (cover)

Leave a Reply

